Not Minty Fresh..

Vietnam
**********
Hoi An Bistro”
374 E Santa Clara St
San Jose, CA 95112 

My first travel spot was to a Vietnamese restaurant simply because it was new and the inside looked so colorful. I had hoped the food was as attractive as their interior. After going through the menu with various facial expressions, I finally decided to order the shredded gourmet tofu and vermicelli. I had to ask the waiter what vermicelli was and he told me it’s a type of noodle. Now I assumed I’d be having a bowl full of luscious noodles covered in savory sauce with tofu on it, Mmmm my idea of tasty! But reality soon hit when I got the bowl and it looked like a dry salad with sprinkles of tofu shreds. I guess I picked the wrong dish to eat on with my stomach on E. The dish was arranged with the noodles being placed at the very bottom and on top was bean sprouts with lettuce and tofu shreds. I concluded it was an OK dish, until I bit into this devilish thing called

Mint ( the plant that grows in your neighbor’s backyard). If you’ve ever ate a dish that’s seasoned with mixed mini shredded mint leaves, you get a pretty gross flavor in your mouth that can make you gag in a hot second. It’s as bad as someone dipping brussel sprouts in oatmeal and having you eat it. Sharp taste yet both food items don’t go together… yea it was on that level of nasty. YUCK!

 
 
 
 
Posted on February 8, 2012, in Vietnamese Cuisine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. probably should have taken the picture before you ate it.

  2. Thanks for noting my blog entry: Cabbage Likes to be Minty fresh. Sorry your mint experience was not as good. Cat, the OptimysticGardener.

  1. Pingback: We Like Fresh Food — Or, Do We ! | Gadaboutblogalot's Blog

Leave a Reply

